Erratic Thought #14: What can we really expect from life?

John Mayer is a musical artist who is very good at writing catchy songs with a good heavier-things1amount of depth. I did a post on another song of his for Erratic Thought #10. I have recently started listening to his sophomore album titled, “Heavier Things.” It has ten tracks that each come together to give the record a very unique sound. The final track is titled “Wheel.” The point of the song is to compare life to a wheel by saying that, for better or for worse, we can’t stop it from turning. We really can’t control control much of what happens. However, he gives the song hope by saying, just like a wheel, almost everything in life will come back around to a full circle.

He gives the example of relationships in a certain line: “And if you never stop when you wave goodbye, you just might find if you give it time you will wave hello again, you just might wave hello again.” The validity of this concept may be debated, but what really intrigues me is the last line of the song. He applies the concept to a different idea when he repeats this phrase several times, “I believe that my life’s gonna see the love I give return to me.” This is the kind of lyric that really makes me stop and think. When I first heard it I was sure that it was some pagan idea people love to believe just to make themselves feel good about themselves.

Is it? Is it OK to think that the love you show will be returned equally back to you? If you are a Christian, then God has promised He will reward you for such things in Heaven. But what about now on earth? The first thing that comes to mind is Job. He was a very obedient, God fearing man to whom God allowed horrible things to happen. His friends and family all left him or told him he was foolish for still being faithful to God. I am sure that God welcomed him into Heaven with open arms and many blessings, but while on earth I don’t think that the love Job gave was returned to him. Some would say that he was the one divine exception. The story of Job is also believed by many to be no more than a parable. A profound story- but still just a parable.

Whether or not Job is a good example to contradict this idea, I still think that to believe  you will receive a certain amount of love based on how much you give away is expecting a certain fairness from life that is just not real. As Christians, we should know better than anyone that life is not fair in the least. Christ came and died for every single dirty sinner in the world. There is not one of us who deserves to spend eternity with God. We need to realize it is because of His unusual and indeed unfair love for us that He has chosen to save us from Hell.

I’m not sure what the right answer is to this question. I know that the love I give in God’s name will be returned to me in Heaven, but I’m not sure how much of it I am garunteed to receive while on earth. I would definately love any comments.

Leave a Reply

