Erratic Thought #12

Well, sorry it has been so long since my last post, but I have now decided that this will be the first in a three-part series on what real Christianity is. I wanted to start this series by asking a question about the foundation of our faith: Who is able to go to Heaven? 

To answer this question, I want to tell you about a band from Ireland, called The Script. I purchased their debut album not long after it came out a couple months ago. They have done some really good songs like “The Man Who Can’t Be Moved” and “Before the Worst,” which I would highly recommend. These and a couple others were the main reason that I bought the album, so it wasn’t until a couple days ago that I actually listened to the last track. The song is called “Anybody There.” I had played it before, but it was one of those times that I heard the song and never really listened to the lyrics. What I finally listened to what they were saying, they almost made me cry. Here are the lyrics:

My head keeps saying “no”The Script
But my heart keeps giving in
So hard to let it go
When it’s there, under my skin

Well, if this is the face of a sinner
And if Heaven is only for winners
Well I don’t care
Cause I won’t know
Anybody there

Thought that I’d let it slide
But it’s me that’s slipping in
Thought that I’d go for a ride
Before this crash I’m dying in

Well, if I’m judged on the life I’ve been living
And if Heaven is not so forgiving
Well, I don’t care
Cause I won’t know
Anybody there

Well, I don’t care
Cause I won’t know
Anybody there 

When I finally realized what the song was communicating, I was caught off guard. I was shocked that I was listening to a song that was so directly contrary to the message of the gospel, but I know I shouldn’t have been. After all, we live in a fallen world that doesn’t like to even acknowledge God’s existence and when it does, it usually doesn’t understand the attributes that He possesses. I know that I am personally guilty of sometimes thinking, “Well, I know that a lot of people have not chosen to be a Christian, but I am sure that most of them have at least head the message of the gospel and know what Jesus is all about.” I guess it’s just hard for me to imagine a place where people know nothing of Jesus’ sacrifice. I don’t know if that is the case for the people who wrote this song, or if they have just chosen to reject the reality of the gospel. However, the song has definitely helped to drive home the reality of the lost world that we live in.

So, to answer that question, “Who is able to go to Heaven,” it’s ironic that the answer is anybody, as the name of the song is “Anybody There.” It doesn’t matter who you are or what you have done, through Jesus’ blood, we are all able to enter paradise and spend eternity with our Creator.

In the first verse of the song, it is stated that “If this is the face of a sinner and Heaven is only for winners…” Before we can say if the message of this song is true, we need to define what a winner is. In 2 Timothy, Paul says “For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, and the time has come for my departure. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness…” A winner is someone who gave their all and poured themselves out completely like an offering before God. A winner is someone who has kept the faith. Does that include leading a sinless, perfect life as the song suggests? No, it is impossible for anybody to live a perfect life. Paul’s writings are filled with him telling of his own inner conflict between what the Holy Spirit wants him to do and what his flesh wants to do.

In the second verse of the song, the singer says, “If I’m judged on the life I’ve been living and if Heaven’s not so forgiving…” Once again a complete contradiction to scripture as we are taught that we are not judged on the life we have been living. If that were so, God would have no choice but to send everyone to Hell. Rather, we are graciously judged on the life that Jesus lived and then laid down for us. Which is proof in itself that there is no place more forgiving than Heaven.

The more I think about it, though, I think the saddest part of the song is the fact that it is written with a beautiful score of violin, piano, and guitar throughout. The way it is performed makes you feel like the song’s writers had this feeling of hopelessness about the afterlife, with which they seem to be OK. In fact, the song seems to almost be glorifying the feeling as “one of those unfortunate parts of life that we need to except.” There is not one glimmer of hope offered. It just makes me so sad to realize that there are actually people who are actually left believing this their whole lives.

What does real Christianity look like in comparison to this song? I praise God that it is the complete and utter opposite.

Leave a Reply

