Erratic Thought #10

Last week was my birthday and I spent some time with family and friends. We went to the mall, walked around, looked at the new iPods and ate lunch. Before we left, I went into a music store and I got a CD by an artist named John Mayer. John is an amazing songwriter and musician. However, one of his songs has really grabbed my attention, here it is: 

I hate to see you cry
Lying there in that position
There’s things your need to hear
So turn off your tears and listen

Pain throws your heart to the ground
Love turns the whole thing around
No, it won’t all go the way, it should
But I know the heart of life is good

You know it’s nothing new
Bad news never had good timing
Then the circle of your friends
Will defend the silver lining

Pain throws your heart to the ground
Love turns the whole thing around
Fear is a friend who’s misunderstood
But I know the heart of life is good

I know it’s good”

But, is it really? Beneath all of the pain, suffering, fear, and sin in the world- is the heart of life really good?When I first started thinking about this question, I really wanted a single, solid, universal answer. I wanted an answer that not only applied to my life, but everyone else’s. But the more I thought about it, I realized that everyone’s life cannot be universally good. What was it that Jesus said in John 14:6?

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

Jesus said that He is the life. That is followed by Him stating that the only way to the Father is through Him. What does that mean? It means that if you have accepted Jesus as your personal way to God’s forgiveness, then Jesus is not only the life, but He is also your life. Jesus is good and in fact, He is that from which all good comes from. Jesus is perfect. So, if you are a Christian and have accepted Jesus to be the very center of your life, then yes, the heart of your life is indeed very good.

Now an argument that could make is that no matter how much you dedicate your life to Jesus, the core of man’s nature will always be evil. To that I would say that we must define the difference between man’s “nature” and man’s “heart.” After the fall, man’s nature was forever infected by sin- something that cannot be undone. At birth, man’s heart thinks in unison with his nature. However, Ezekiel 36:26 says, “A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you a heart of flesh.” When we choose to follow Christ, we are given a brand new heart, one that enables us to say no to sin and one that gives us a desire to worship the Creator of the universe. Until we die, our God-given heart and and earthly nature will be at war with one another. But praise be to God who has shown us mercy and chose to send us us his Son as a way that the heart of our lives may indeed be good!

6 Responses to “Erratic Thought #10”

  1. Very good, well said, and well thought out. He is good-I can only be good because of Him, and most of the time I struggle at that because I am not looking to Christ as a constant source of help, and he is an ever present help in time of need (which is always).

  2. Yes, it’s ironic, but the truth is we can only get closer to Christ by admitting to Him that we’re failing miserably at doing the very things He wants us to do! Yes, Christ is always there for us but we must recognize that we really NEED Him, then cry out to Him. That’s when our lives truly become good, rich and abundant in the way that He intended. I don’t mean crying out once, on a particularly frustrating day, when we feel like we’ve had some sort of revelation, but DAILY as even Christ himself did to His Father.

  3. As always, nick, astoundingly well written. excellent points too.

  4. drew donaldson Says:

    Yes. This is good.
    I have made a comment, as you continually urged me to do yesterday. Are you now content with the whole world, and happy with life? I thought not.

  5. Well, I mean, I guess I am content. However, when I first told you I was going to write on this topic I believe you objected saying, “Well, of course the heart of life is not good.” So, maybe I have convinced you otherwise. If so, then yay me. But I must say that I was hoping to get into some sort of debate with the great Drew Donaldson. Oh well. 🙂

  6. […] good at writing catchy songs with a good amount of depth. I did a post on another song of his for Erratic Thought #10. I have recently started listening to his sophomore album titled, “Heavier Things.” It […]

Leave a Reply

